The Startup Success Podcast

Information you need as a startup, indie or microISV.

Show #8: Joel Spolsky, Part 2.

with 6 comments

The Startup Success Podcast

The Startup Success Podcast

In our eighth show, we continue our interview with IT legend, Joel Spolsky, on the recession and startups, GYM’s future, the Cloud and more. Joel is the cofounder of Fog Creek Software (Fogbugz), the force behind the Joel on Software blog and forums, a podcaster and cofounder of Stack Overflow.

Also, Pat and I discuss a better way to ask “What app should I build as my startup?”, I suggest a good holidays thing to do for your customers, Pat makes a good pitch for Microsoft Azure, and we have another Startup for Startups for your consideration.

Download Show #8 here: startupsuccess008 Or if you prefer, Subscribe to the podcast in Apple iTunes.

If you like the podcast, Please review it on iTunes.

Who should we interview in 2009? Send us your suggestions!

Bob Walsh is on twitter at http://twitter.com/bobwalsh or you can email him at bob.walsh@47hats.com.
Patrick Foley is on twitter at http://twitter.com/patrickfoley or you can email him at patrick.foley@microsoft.com

Show Notes:

URLs mentioned in this episode of the Startup Success Podcast.

Written by Bob Walsh, Self-Funded Startup Consultant

December 11, 2008 at 6:00 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m having trouble downloading the podcasts. In iTunes the downloads fail with some error after about 80% is downloaded. When I grabbed the mp3s they cut off during Joel’s interview.

    I love the podcasts (what I’ve heard so far)… please fix this!

    PodcastGuy

    December 13, 2008 at 8:42 am

    • The podcasts were and are good. Looks like it’s a WordPress.com issue – have contacted wp.com support. Thanks for letting me know!-Bob

      Bob Walsh

      December 16, 2008 at 7:25 am

  2. I just wanted to put my 2 cents in here after listening to all of the podcasts so far.

    First, I am really enjoying the content of the podcasts, the tips and interviews. Thank you for providing this service.

    Secondly, and the real reason for my comment, please stop plugging Microsoft. Patrick, this is to you…we know MS has products but I don’t care to hear the plugs. I have heard too many over the course of the shows and it turns me off. I think if you talk about MS you need to talk about other products in the same context.

    This podcast is probably paid for by MS, if it is, then there is really a conflict of interest here in talking about products. If this prodcast talked any more about MS I would stop listening.

    Rob Bazinet

    December 18, 2008 at 7:45 am

    • Rob! You wound me Sir! One point I want to make very clear: This podcast is in no way, shape or form paid for, owned, underwritten, sponsored or endorsed by Microsoft or for that matter anybody else. I own it, Pat’s my cohost, and we pay what few costs there are out of our own pocket.

      What I would like your help with is rounding up more non-Microsoft people interesting to startups: Rails people, Open Source, whoever. For example, I have been tried repeatedly to get somebody – anybody – on the show form Adobe to talk about Flex3/AIR. Zero response. Not so much as a “sorry, you’re too small to bother with” reply. It’s very frustrating.

      Bob Walsh

      December 18, 2008 at 7:57 am

  3. Hi Bob,

    I hope you understand I am grateful for the show and the content. I just wish Patrick would tone down the MS plugs, it sounds too much like marketing.

    I also hope you take my comment for what it is worth. Maybe I am the only one complaining or maybe people have not said anything. My intent is certainly not to wound..but thought I would point it out.

    The show rocks, please keep it up. I have a couple ideas for people who I think would be great for the show. Would you like me to talk with them and contact you? If so, what is the best way to contact you? If you want to email me directly the info, please do so.

    -Rob

    Rob Bazinet

    December 18, 2008 at 8:46 am

  4. I hear you Rob, but I AM an evangelist … it’s what I do.

    What I can promise you is that I will continue attempting to make my “plugs” more relevant and topical … Microsoft is arguably the most important company for software developers, and I am passionate about making sure that developers and business owners know what we have to offer and why it matters.

    My strategy from here is to attempt to get real-life, successful ISV developers and owners (like Sanjay Bhatia from Show #2, for example) explain what Microsoft products have (and haven’t) worked for them.

    I will attempt to restrict my plugs to newer technologies that are relevant to startups – Windows Azure being a prime example – but I recognize it’s a whole lot more powerful to hear from a business owner than it is to hear from me.

    Thanks for listening and for sharing your feedback. I’ll do my best to convey a balanced tone.

    P

    Patrick Foley

    December 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm


Leave a comment