The Startup Success Podcast

Information you need as a startup, indie or microISV.

Show #6: Pamela Slim, Escape from Cubicle Nation

with 7 comments

The Startup Success Podcast

The Startup Success Podcast

In our sixth show, I interview consultant, blogger, podcaster and writer Pamela Slim, who was liberated thousands of people from their cubicles and helped them escape to richer, more lucrative and more fulfilling lives as entrepreneurs.

Pam’s blog, Escape from Cubicle Nation, is one of the top resources on the net for people who want to stop being “good corporate team players” and own their own teams, for better or worse. Pam’s advice is definitely a keeper.

Also, Pat and I chew over the state of Silverlight and where is the killer Rich Internet Application? I have a few tips on taming the email beast and Pat makes the case for Silverlight for microISVs and startups.

Download Show #6 here: startupsuccess006 Or if you prefer, Subscribe to the podcast in Apple iTunes If you like the podcast, Please review it on iTunes.

What can we do to help you? Who should we go interview? What knowledge should we go find an expert in and pick their brains? Let us know!

Bob Walsh is on twitter at http://twitter.com/bobwalsh or you can email him at bob.walsh@47hats.com
Patrick Foley is on twitter at http://twitter.com/patrickfoley or you can email him at patrick.foley@microsoft.com

Show Notes:

URLs mentioned in this episode of the Startup Success Podcast.

Written by Bob Walsh, Senior Developer

November 24, 2008 at 10:13 am

Posted in Podcasts

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Show #6 of the Startup Success Podcast is up – This week, I interview Pamela Slim of Escape from Cubicle Nation fame. Pam offers extremely good advice on jailbreaking your life from the corporate scene. Subscribe to the podcast in Apple iTunes. […]

    47 Hats - MicroISV Digest

    November 24, 2008 at 6:06 pm

  2. Great content guys, you’re doing a great job with the podcast! I just had a small comment about the sound levels. Sometime someone is really loud and someone else is really hard to ear. I don’t know how hard it would be to just equalize everyone at the same level?

    Thanks!

    EtienneT

    December 2, 2008 at 5:58 am

    • Thanks for the feedback, EtienneT – I will start compressing the levels more …

      patrickfoley

      December 11, 2008 at 4:59 pm

  3. I’ve just started listening to this podcast. , so I know this is old.

    As a Flex / Flash Platform Developer, it is amusing to hear the “other side” talk about technology.

    You mentioned that inside a firewall, for enterprise applications, penetration of the player is a non-issue. I agree! If that is your deployment model the questions to ask are “Do have the technology to run this app?” and if no, “Can we get / deploy / install the technology to runt his app.”

    However, you mentioned that Silverlight allows more people to work on projects than just going to “That Flash Guy.” Flex is a programmer’s way to make swf files and it was designed for application development; not graphic design.

    You also mentioned that you don’t know of anyone using Flash for business applications. That doesn’t surprise me because I would expect the penetration of Flash business apps inside Microsoft are slim. However, there are plenty of companies out there using Flash for business apps, thanks to Flex. The numbers seem to be increasing significantly over the past 5 years. Everyone I know is doing it; although those are the circles I run in.

    Jeffry Houser

    September 28, 2009 at 4:13 am

  4. Reasonable points, Jeffry – obviously, the companies I work with are going to present more of a Microsoft view to me.

    However, the expression “That Flash Guy” actually comes from companies I work with … Flash seems quite “other” to most shops I work with – even ones that use Flash.

    While Flex may in fact be a fine development environment for teams, it is far more likely that an enterprise development team already has the .NET expertise required for Silverlight development than the expertise required to create a Flash app (especially if that enterprise is already using ASP.NET for web development, which is quite common). You have to consider what the other tiers are likely to be written in. The overall experience of developing in .NET and Visual Studio is excellent and CONSISTENT across Silverlight, ASP.NET, Azure, desktop, server, mobile, Office, etc.

    There is clearly a perception in the companies I work with that Flash/Flex is more for “pretty” stuff than for line-of-business applications. I think Silverlight has an advantage there, both in perception and in reality.

    For full disclosure, the day after I made the blanket statement you refer to, I came across quite a nice Enterprise app whose front end was made in Flash/Flex, so I can no longer say that I don’t know of any.

    I am trying not to focus on “challenging” competitors on the podcast any longer … it’s just not a good forum for that. Instead, I’m trying to focus on what’s positive about our platform. So … nothing against Flash/Flex – I just think Silverlight rocks🙂

    Patrick Foley

    September 30, 2009 at 11:34 am

    • With regards to tooling, as best I can tell the Microsoft side of the equation appears to be superior. Eclipse, which a lot of the Adobe programming tools are built on, seems perpetually awkward to me.

      There is a huge perception–even among those in the Adobe community–that “Flash” means “Skip Intro” and “annoying animations”. I believe Adobe has done an inconsistent PR job of explaining how Flex fits into that picture.

      There is a common belief among many Flex developers that ‘on a dime’ the number of Silverlight Developers will trump the number of Flex developers due to it’s integration w/ the rest of the Microsoft stack. Your comments seem to make me think that is true.

      No other comments, though.🙂

      Jeffry Houser

      October 4, 2009 at 6:35 am

  5. Glad to hear your opinions there. I have several friends who are big fans of Eclipse, but I’ve always found it awkward, too. Never got over the learning curve and always felt that I had to start the learning over if I’d been away for a year.

    In a later show, my colleague and MSFT UX Evangelist, Josh Holmes, talks about his good working relationship with his counterparts at Adobe. He makes the point that as long as we focus on building better software for end users (especially better user experiences), good things will happen, regardless of which platform you’re using. There is so much room for improvement in UX design that we’re better off focusing on that and learning from each other than on arguing much about the merits of one platform over another. I will bow to his wisdom there …

    Cheers.

    Patrick Foley

    October 5, 2009 at 5:51 am


Leave a Reply

